Law Offices of Jess C. Bedore III - Certified Specialist in Criminal Law
local 916-367-0262

What are the DUI laws that apply in California?

Getting hit with a driving under the influence violation is a major moment in any person's life. There are critical steps that you have to take very shortly after such an offense to protect yourself and your livelihood -- otherwise the consequences associated with the offense could wreak havoc on your life.

But how do you get a DUI in the first place? And what are some of these dire consequences that we are referencing? Let's start with the basics of a DUI. As you are likely aware, the legal alcohol limit for driving is 0.08. That blood alcohol content isn't the only law in effect though. If you drive a commercial vehicle, the legal BAC maximum is 0.04. And if you are under the age of 21, the BAC maximum is a zero tolerance approach.

In the state of California, should you get a DUI, it will remain on your record for 10 years. The penalties for this offense can be severe, even if it is your first offense. For example, if you are over the age of 21 and it is your first DUI offense, there will still be an automatic suspension of your driver's license attached to your offense.

You will also face up to six months in jail, up to $1,000 in fines, and the installation of an ignition interlock device on your vehicle. You will also be required to attend a DUI or alcohol treatment program. The penalties for a DUI will also be amplified for any subsequent or additional offenses.

Source: DMV, "DUI & DWI in California," Accessed April 7, 2015

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information

Contact our firm

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close